The Brighton Police Records Section is responsible for the retention of police records, as well as the release of information to the public, courts, other law enforcement agencies, and insurance companies.
Our Records Division hours of operation are 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. The lobby hours of the Police Department are 7a.m. to 7 p.m. daily. Before appearing in person to obtain a report, we recommend that you call our Records Division at 303-655-2300 to obtain information such as availability of your requested report.
Request a Police Record
The Police Department releases copies of criminal justice records according to state statutes and federal regulations. All requests for inspection or release of criminal justice records require the completion of a open records request form (PDF). You may mail, email, fax your request form or bring it into the Police Department.
In addition you may also purchase crash reports online at:
Please be advised that the case number you are given by the Officer will look similar to this 21-1234 – when searching on crashdocs.org you will need to have the computer generated case number which is actually written with a 12CN at the front and zeros separating the year and case number – 12CN21001234.
You can also do an advance search using your VIN information.
To check the availability of your report please contact the Records Unit at 303-655-2300. Our Fee Schedule can be found here. Please note we accept payment in the forms of cash, business check or money order.
The Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) has implemented a new statewide digital fingerprinting process called CABS (Colorado Applicant Background Services). You may visit the Colorado Bureau of Investigation's website for more details about the CABS program.
Background Check and Clearance Letters
A local (Brighton only) background check can be purchased for $15. The full name and date of birth of the party is required. A statewide background check may be purchased by going to Colorado Bureau of Investigation’s website.
The Police Department offers standard VIN inspections to residents and non-residents of Brighton .For standard VIN inspections there is no appointment necessary. Residents may call our dispatch center to have an Officer respond to your location. If you respond to the Police Department, an officer will be called in to complete the inspection. Please note that this may take a few minutes depending on the officers’ call load. Please bring your registration information.
- Brighton Residents – No fee
- Non-Brighton Residents - $15 cash, business check or money order
The following vehicles require a Certified VIN Inspection:
- Bonded title vehicles
- Rebuilt vehicles
- Reconstructed vehicles
- Vehicles assembled from a kit
For salvage titles "you must have all paperwork and receipts for repairs completed. A rebuilt from salvage dye cast stamp must be placed inside the driver's side door post near the latch. The vehicle must be road worthy. All lights must be working, tires need to have adequate tread, the windshield cannot have any cracks, and if the vehicle is equipped with airbags, they must work."
If your vehicle does not currently have a VIN assigned you must contact Colorado State Patrol to complete the inspection.
Brighton Police Department does not do Certified VIN Inspections please contact Colorado State Patrol to schedule an appointment.
Tows and Impounds
For Registered Owners or Titleholders Obtaining an Impound Release:
The registered owner or titleholder should bring to the Brighton Police Department and make available for copy the following documentation:
The current registration for the vehicle– it must be current/valid
The title for the vehicle in the owner’s name
The registered owner’s or title holder’s picture identification or driver’s license
This is the required documentation for release of an impounded vehicle to the registered owner/title holder. If the registered owner or title holder is not available to bring to the Brighton Police Department the required documentation, please refer to: For Others Obtaining an Impound Release.
For Others Obtaining an Impound Release:
The registered owner or titleholder must complete a letter delegating responsibility of release to another person. This letter must be notarized, NO EXCEPTIONS. The letter must contain the following specific references:
The vehicle year, make, model, and vehicle identification number (VIN) of the vehicle to be released
The name of the registered owner or titleholder granting permission to a specifically named person, including date of birth, to obtain the vehicle release.
The specifically named person who is being granted permission to obtain the vehicle release should then bring the following documentation to the Brighton Police Department and make available for copy:
The notarized letter from the registered owner or titleholder prepared according to the Brighton Police Department – Others Obtaining an Impound Release guidelines
The current registration for the vehicle being released – it must be current/valid
The title for the vehicle being released
The picture identification or driver’s license of the person being granted permission to obtain the vehicle release.
This is the required documentation for release of an impounded vehicle to anyone other than the current registered owner or titleholder. Please see the attached example letter outlining the information needed on the notarized letter. Note that it is not necessary to use this example letter but your notarized letter must contain the specific information as defined in Others Obtaining an Impound Release.
For Insurance Companies Obtaining an Impound Release:
The insurance company of the impounded vehicle must submit the following documentation:
A letter on company letterhead authorizing the impounded vehicle’s release.
The letter of authorization must contain the vehicle year, vehicle make, vehicle model, vehicle identification number (VIN), and the insurance company’s policy number of the impounded vehicle to be released. If the impounded vehicle is to be picked up by a tow company, the letter of authorization must contain the business name, address, and phone number of the designated tow company.
The designated tow company specifically named in the letter of authorization from the insurance company must submit the following documentation and make available for copy:
The letter of authorization from the impounded vehicle’s insurance company.
A work order from the tow company that indicates the name and address of the location where the vehicle is now stored. This work order must include the vehicle year, vehicle make, vehicle model, and vehicle identification number (VIN) of the impounded vehicle the insurance company is authorizing to be released.
The picture identification or driver’s license of the tow company’s authorized driver.
This is the minimum required documentation for release of an impounded vehicle to insurance companies and their designated tow companies.